Buutu edge Amakokotazi to claim the inaugural Batball Open Nile Edition |Uganda Cricket

2 mins read

Read time : 



By Kirunda Wycliffe

Day 2 results

Amakokotazi 94/6 in 10 overs

Empungu 42/4 in 10 overs

Amakokotazi won by 52 runs

3rd and 4th eliminator

Amakubi 51/6 in 10 overs

Empungu 52/2 in 6.5 overs

Empungu won by 8 wickets

2nd and 3rd Eliminator

Amakokotazi 56/2 in 8 overs

Empungu 35/4 in 8 overs

Amakokotazi won by 23 runs on D/L Method


Amakokotazi 61/2 in 10 overs

Buutu 63/3 in 8.3 overs

Buutu won by 7 wickets 

The second regional Batball Open tournament was successfully held at Jinja SS cricket oval where a number of four teams named after common bird species in the region competed in a two day tournament.

Buutu had it all in all departments as they were unbeaten in all the four engagements they held, chased down the required score of 62 in the final game against Amakokotzi to claim the inaugural Batball Open Nile Edition.

Amakubi, Amakokotazi and Empungu were the other three teams that showcased their talents being broadcasted live on Batball TV.

Besides Buutu winning the trophy, there were a number of good performances from all the four teams and this could help in the next tournaments to come.

During the event, the Batball Uganda Limited CEO AAkarshit Madaan went on to mention how the tournament was one of the many to come and encouraged parents to support their children with their talent.

“I would like to thank all the bodies behind this project as it’s one of the ways of promoting sports and ending poverty in Busoga region,” said the Deputy Prime Minister of Busoga Kingdom.

The best 16 players from the tournament will go on to represent the region in the next challenge called Batball X that shall be played next year.

Batball Uganda Limited will be organising more three regional tournament that shall form Batball X.

Tournament Award winners

Best Fielder- Pius Oloka(Amakubi)

Best Wicket Keeper-Timothy Muwanguzi(Buutu)

Best Bowler- Banda Joel(Amakokotazi)

Best Batsman- Paul Mulongo(Buutu)

Player of the tournament-Jonathan Nyiro(Amakokotaxzi)

Youngest Player of the Tournament- Sajjabi Ibra(Empungu)

Man of Match(Finals)- Kakaire Geofrey(Buutu)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments