Byron Rugomoka drives “Akiiki” Ivo 8 to top podium spot of National Rally championship

< 1 mins read

Read time : 

< 1


By Morris Rawal

The latest Uganda rally champions are Byron Rugomoka and Hakim Mawanda in their “Akiiki” Ivo 8.

Byron Rugomoka’s triumph in Rukungiri marked the end of the rally season in excellent fashion.

He maintained his lead throughout the whole race and finished it in 1 hour, 34 minutes, and 30 seconds. 

Additionally, it was his first victory in a rally.

Jonas Kansiime was only able to finish in second place.

 He finished the race 1 minute, 51 seconds after Rugomoka, the eventual winner.

Oscar Ntambi and Asuman Muhammed are now included among the winners after beating off rivals Ibrahim Lubega and Godfrey Nsereko to win the two-wheel drive title.

Muhammed Bwete and Isaac Lumu won the Clubman rally title when Mike Mukula Jr., their closest challenger, crashed out in the first stages on Saturday. 

For Mukula to save the season, he must now contend for the Sprints’ crown.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments