Denis Onyango is a clear favourite to win the goalkeeper of the season accolade

< 1 mins read

Read time : 

< 1


By Alex Bossa

Former Uganda Cranes custodian and skipper is among the three goalkeepers who have been shortlisted for the Premier Goalkeeper of the season along with Amazulu’s Veli Mothwa and Golden Arrow’s Sifiso Mlungwana.

Onyango who won the accolade of PSL goalkeeper of the 2015/2016 season is a clear favourite to walk away with the accolade again after keeping 15 clean sheets so far this season with 4 matches left to the end of the season.

Both South Africans Veli Mothwa and Sifiso Mlungwana cannot beat Onyango when one considers the number of clean sheets this season as they are joint 2nd with 10 clean sheets, with the latter playing 4 games more than Onyango and Veli.

On numbers of goals conceded, Onyango has shipped in fewer goals(9) this season while Veli Mothwa has conceded (17) and Sifiso Mlungwana (22) so far this season

Along with South Africa’s Lebohang Kgosana Maboe, Onyango has the most appearances (24) in the league for Mamelodi Sundown this season

Onyango’s 2015/2016 season success saw him keep 14 clean sheets, a record he surpassed only after 24 games he played in.

As a result of their dominance in the league this season, it is no surprise that Mamelodi Sundowns dominate the shortlist with a representative in all the categories apart from the young player of the season Category.

Full Short list

Goalkeeper of the Season:

Denis Onyango (Sundowns), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Sifiso Mlungwana (Arrows)

Defender of the Season:

Mosa Lebusa (Sundowns), Njabulo Ngcobo (Swallows), Tapelo Xoki (AmaZulu)

Midfielder of the Season:

Themba Zwane, Rivaldo Coetzee (both Sundowns), Makhehlene Makhaula (AmaZulu)

Young Player of the Season:

Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg), Kamogelo Mahlangu (TS Galaxy), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka)

Diski Player of the Tournament:

Boitumela Radiopane (Pirates), Lindokuhle Zungu (AmaZulu), Siyanda Nyanga (Sundowns)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments