FUFA Women Elite League: Millicent Namwembe’s goal wins She Maroons FC the FUFA Elite League Title

2 mins read

Read time : 



By Edward Tumusiime

FT: She Maroons FC 1-0 Rines WFC

Venue: FUFA Technical Centre Njeru

The 2021 FUFA Women Elite League concluded today 3rd June at the FUFA Technical Centre Njeru with the final game between She Maroons FC and Rines SS WFC.

She Maroons FC came into today’s game with a 100%-win record in this year’s FUFA Women Elite League which gave them the confidence to make it as the champions.

The first period of the game was an intense one with both teams pulling their nerves to touch the trophy with both teams maintaining a solid defence.

Both teams failed to break the deadlock before the halftime break and by the time the final whistle of the half was blown the game was still level.

In the second Millicent Namwembe who walked away with a golden boot scored the only goal of the day breaking the deadlock in the 75th minute to give She Maroons FC a one-goal lead.

Rines SS WFC tried hard to find an equalizing goal but She Maroons was not ready to lose it at the last minute and they managed to maintain their winning run of the tournament.

After the win, She Maroons FC was Crowned the Champions of the 2021 FUFA Women Elite League just after securing their promotion to the FUFA Women Super League.

She Maroons FC Starting Line-UP;1-Akujo, 28-Najunju, 8-Najjuko, 5-Nantongo, 20-Babirye, 2-Adong, 26-Naggayi, 4-Naluyima, 7-Anitah, 12-Masinde, 9-Namwembe.

Substitutes; Namuyomba, Kyomugisha, Nassali, Akulu, Nalwadda, Peace

Rines SS WFC Starting Line-Up; 18-Najjemba, 7-Wujja, 3-Khaudha, 4-Nankya, 15-Aloyo, 6-Nantume, 13-Nababi, 14-Nalule, 9-Iraacha, 16-Nankinga, 17-Nakubulwa.

Substitutes; Kwagala, Gimbo, Nakalule, Nagayi, Kayesu.

Final Awards;

Champions; She Maroons FC

First Runners-up; Rines SS WFC

Second Runners-up; Bunyaruguru Girls FC

Fair play; She Kataka FC

Most Valuable player; Joan Naggayi (She Maroons FC)

Golden boot; Millicent Namwembe (She Maroons FC) – 6 goals

Best Goalkeeper; Elsie Najjemba (Rines SS WFC)

All individual award winners take a cash prize of 500,000 Uganda shillings

Champions (She Maroons FC) take 8 million Uganda Shillings

First Runners-up (Rines SS WFC) take 5 million Uganda shillings

Second Runners-up (Bunyaruguru Girls WFC) take 3.5 million Uganda shillings

Fourth place (Wakiso Hills WFC) take 1.5 million Uganda shillings

She Maroons FC Road to the Championship

She Maroons FC 1-0 Rines SS WFC (Finals)

Wakiso Hills WFC 0-1 She Maroons FC (Semifinal)

She Maroons FC 3-1 Ajax Queens FC (Quarter-Final)

Group Stages

Lango Queens FC 0-1 She Maroons FC

She Maroons 2-1 Wakiso Hills

She Maroons FC 6-1 EHCOS WFC

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments