FUFA Women’s Super League: How did we get where we are? A review of major twists and turns from 2019 to date

3 mins read

Read time : 



By Paul Ochie

12th September, 2019: FUFA makes announcement of the establishment of the FUFA Women’s Super League (FWSL). The new FWSL was set to replace the FUFA Women’s Elite League (FWEL) as the top division of women’s club football in Uganda. One of the reasons for setting  this league was to improve competition amongst the women’s game and better prepare Ugandan women’s soccer teams for continental engagements.

The inaugural FWSL was to comprise 8 teams which would each have to play all the others three times home and away with the venue of the third draw determined by aggregate advantage with the team ahead on aggregate in the fixture hosting. The 8 inaugural participants were determined by picking the top 4 teams from the two groups of the FWEL. 

The Victoria Group sent in: Kawempe Muslims Ladies FC, Lady Doves WFC, She Corporates WFC, and Mutesa I Royal University WFC. The Elizabeth Group sent in: Kampala Queens, UCU Lady Cardinals WFC, Olila High School, and Uganda Martyrs Rubaga.

2nd  November, 2019: It was a Saturday. The FWSL kicks off with the UCU Lady Cardinals taking on and beating the She Corporates by a goal to nil in Mukono. In the other game of the opening day, the Kampala Queens scored two second half spot kicks to see off Olila High School by a 2 : 1 scoreline.

22nd February, 2020 – Mutesa I Royal University WFC was relegated in the boardroom. The Competition Disciplinary Panel (CDP) decided to push back the university lady’s team due to failure to honor 3 fixtures of the FWSL. This left the top women’s club division with only seven teams after the panel applied rule 24(11) of the FUFA Competition Rules (FCR) on the errant team.

20th May, 2020:  FUFA cancels the inaugural season of the FWSL, declares it null and void. The FUFA governing body  Invokes rule 18 (a) of the FCRs to conclude the first version of the FWSL with no one declared winner or relegated. 

On the same day, FUFA announced that Isra Soccer Academy was promoted from the Victoria Group of the FWEL Makerere University WFC (She Mak) were promoted from the Elizabeth Group of the FWEL. This decision was also made in the boardroom as the season had not completed. But at least more than 50% of the games had been played. The promotion of these two teams increased the number of teams in the FWSL to 9. 

2nd November, 2020: Tooro Queens join the FWSL after beating Asubo Gafford Ladies 4 : 2 on spot kicks following a goalless draw in the promotional play off of the FWEL at the FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru. And that is how the FWSL accumulated 10 clubs.

10th March, 2021: FUFA announces the dates and fixtures of a new format FWSL. After an extension of the initial start date, the new format FWSL was scheduled to start on the 19th of April at the FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru in a bubble of sports activity. The league clubs were divided into two groups. Each group would play a single robin mini-league for a week with the top 2 in each group qualifying to feature in a knockout competition to determine the FWSL Champion for the 2021 season

The Groups:

Group A: Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC, Uganda Martyrs Lubaga, Kamapala Queens, Makerere University WFC, Tooro Queens, 

Group B: UCU Lady Cardinals, Olila High School, Lady Doves WFC, Isra Soccer Academy, She Corporates WFC.
19th April, 2021: The 2021 edition of the FWSL kicks off with Makerere University WFC taking on Uganda Martyrs H.S. in the early morning 9:00 am fixture and Kawempe Muslim WFC taking on Kampala Queens FC in the midday fixture. This was the first game of a schedule of fixtures that would see all teams of Group A face off with each other once in the course of the week at the end of which two teams would qualify for quarter final positions in the knockout phase of the competition.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments