FUFA’s stance on the registration of the FUFA Junior League players for the Uganda Premier League Season 2020/2021 Season.

2 mins read

Read time : 



By Edward Tumusiime

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we have not been able to kick off the FUFA Junior League 2020/2021.

However, FUFA has received requests from the Uganda Premier League Clubs to be allowed to utilize players of their FUFA Junior League teams for the senior outfits as was the case with the previous seasons.

After consultations and careful considerations, it has been decided as follows in regard to the subject matter,

  1. The Uganda Premier League clubs are henceforth allowed to use up to four (4) FUFA Junior League players in a single match.
  2. The FUFA Junior League Players should be in possession of their 2019/2020 players’ Licenses
  3. The newly promoted clubs for the season 2020/2021. i.e. Kitara FC, MYDA FC and UPDF FC will be given the opportunity to register their FUFA Junior League teams but within the provisions of the Regulations on the Status and transfer of players.
  4. FUFA Competitions Department shall issue Provisional Players’ Licenses in all such cases.
  5. Any player in the above category must possess PCR negative COVID-19 test results as has been for the senior sides.
  6. No player shall be registered or licensed without the parent’s/guardian’s consent.

The above provisions shall apply for the season 2020/2021 only.

The FUFA Junior League started as a league for players below the age of 17, the Inaugural U-17 league started with the 2014/2015 season which was won by Kampala Junior Team (KJT).

The 2015/2016 season was won by Vipers SC JT which attracted all the clubs in the Uganda Premier League. Vipers SC beat Onduparaka FC JT in the Final at Omondi stadium Lugogo.

Then in the 2018/2019 season even players U-19 years of age were given a chance to participate in the Junior League, the league that was named FUFA U-19 Juniors League reverting the U-17 category.

The U-19 league kicked off on Sunday 7th October 2018 involving 16 teams that were divided into two groups codenamed- Treble and Hat-trick-8 teams per group.

The Treble group included; KCCA FC SA, Police Armless Brigade, Maroons FC JT, URA FC JT, Vipers SC JT, Paidha Black Angels FC JT, Onduparaka FC JT and Ndejje University FC JT.

The Hat Trick group included; Tooro United FC JT, Express FC JT, SC Villa JT, Bright stars FC JT, Nyamityobora FC JT, Mbarara City FC JT, BUL FC JT and Kirinya Jinja SS FC JT.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments