Makwatta’s Spectacular 4-Goal Triumph Shocks Football World

Read in 3.10 mintues


– John Makwatta scores 4 goals for Kariobangi Sharks.

– Rare achievement, no other player scored 4 goals.

– Steve Bwire also scores for Sharks.

– Sofapaka scores through Darius Msagha and Jacob Onyango.

John Makwatta was in top form as he scored four goals for Kariobangi Sharks in a 5-2 Football Kenya Federation Premier League win against Sofapaka at Dandora Stadium on Saturday, May 11, 2024.

This is a rare achievement this season, as no player has scored four goals in a single game. The other goal for Sharks was scored by Steve Bwire as Batoto ba Mungu, now staring at a real potential chop, scored through Darius Msagha and Jacob Onyango.

Makwatta, a prolific striker for AFC Leopards and Ulinzi Stars, scored the opening goal in the first minute. The second goal for the Eastlands side came in the 29th minute when the home side engineered a top-level attack, with Bwire finding the back of the net with the final ball.

Makwatta’s brace

Makwatta, now with 11 goals since he joined the club in the mid-season transfer season, scored his second in the 32nd minute. However, Batoto ba Mungu fought and earned their first goal when Onyango scored just minutes after Makwatta’s brace.

Msagha, a former Bandari stalwart, scored the second for the 2009 Premier League champions in the early minutes of the second half.

Kariobangi Sharks fought back as their lead was threatened and scored the fourth one through Makwatta three minutes after the hour mark.

Sharks are now unbeaten in 12 games and have moved to 10th position. The William Muluya-led side was last defeated in February when they suffered a 2-0 loss to AFC Leopards.

At Ulinzi Sports Complex, Ulinzi Stars were held to a 0-0 draw against Muhoroni Youth. Youth are in the danger zone with just 27 points, while the soldiers are 13th with 32 points.

Finally, Posta Rangers held Bandari to a goalless draw as the Dockers continued to register a winless run. This is the fifth attempt that the coastal side has faced without a single win, and they are now in fifth place with 46 points.

Rangers are in sixth place with three fewer points than Bandari.

About the Kenya Premier League

There are 18 clubs in the Kenyan Premier League. During the course of a season, traditionally from February to November but switched to August to May in 2018, each club plays the others twice (a double round-robin system): once at their home stadium and once at that of their opponents, for a total of 34 games. 

Teams receive three points for a win and one point for a draw. No points are awarded for a loss. Teams are ranked by total points, then goal difference, and then goals scored. At the end of each season, the club with the most points is crowned champion. 

If points are equal, the goal difference and then goals scored determine the winner. If still equal, the ordering is determined by their head-to-head records. If there is a tie for the championship, for relegation, or for qualification to other competitions, a play-off match at a neutral venue decides rank. The two lowest placed teams are relegated to the National Super League, with its top two teams promoted in their place. The 16th placed team squares off with the third-best team from the National Super League for the third promotion slot.

In 2018 the league switched from a Feb/Nov calendar to an August to May competition to bring it in line with other countries

 The 2018/2019 season bridges the gap running from December 2018 to July 2019 after which the seasons will align with those of European nations.


Kenyan Premier League Top ScorersGoalsPosition
Benson Omala 9Striker
Francis Kahiro6Striker
Erick Kapaito6Striker 
Boniface Muchiri6Right winger
Moses Shumah6Striker 
Titus Kapchanga5Striker
Samuel Kapen5Striker 
Geoffrey Onyango5Striker
Brian Yakhama5Striker 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *