FUFA Beach Soccer: League Title Race Hits Critical Stage

Read in 2.11 mintues

• FUFA Beach Soccer League set to climax

• Battle for the top spot

• St. Lawrence University Vs Buganda Royal

• Kampala City Vs Mutoola

• Previous winners of FUFA Beach Soccer League

• #UgSportsNow

As the regular season of the FUFA beach soccer league reached its climax ten days ago, the focus has now shifted to the championship play-offs that will determine the destiny of the 2023/24 campaign. With the top four teams – Kampala City, Mutoola, Buganda Royal, and defending champions St. Lawrence University – gearing up for the final showdown on 30th June 2024 at the FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru, the stage is set for an exciting and closely contested title race.

Table standing

Battle for the top spot

Throughout the regular season, Kampala City and St. Lawrence University were engaged in a fierce battle for the top spot. It took until the last day of the season for St. Lawrence University to edge out Kampala City with a 2-1 victory, securing themselves in the first position. Meanwhile, Mutoola, who were also in the mix initially, eventually settled for third place. However, the Sand Giants still have the opportunity to clinch a double after their recent triumph in the Muwanguzi Memorial Cup in May.

Buganda Royal, after a slow start to the season, displayed remarkable progress as the campaign unfolded. Their impressive 3-2 victory over MS Sand Lions in the final round of the last phase propelled them to the fourth position, setting the stage for an intriguing battle in the play-offs.

St. Lawrence University Vs Buganda Royal

The play-offs fixtures are now set, with table-topping St. Lawrence University set to face Buganda Royal as they aim to secure an unprecedented fifth consecutive league title.

Kampala City Vs Mutoola

Kampala City, on the other hand, will lock horns with Mutoola in the other semi-final clash. The winners of these matches will then compete in the final, where the ultimate champion of the 2023/24 FUFA Beach Soccer League season will be decided.


Previous winners of FUFA Beach Soccer League

2009-2010 – Club Tinka

2010-2011 – Braza Braza

2011-2012 – Kabalagala Rangers

2012-2013 – Mubs

2013-2014 – St. Lawrence University

2014-2015 – Kira Young

2015-2016 – Nkumba Select

2016-2017 – MUBS

2017-2018 – Isabeti

2018-2019 – St. Lawrence University

2019-2020 – Cancelled due to COVID Pandemic

2020-2021 – St. Lawrence University

2021-2022 – St. Lawrence University

2022-2023 – St. Lawrence University

As the title race enters its decisive phase, fans can expect intense matches, spectacular goals, and thrilling moments as the top beach soccer teams in Uganda vie for supremacy on the sandy shores. The excitement is palpable as the stage is set for a thrilling conclusion to what has been a captivating season of beach soccer action.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *