Kenyan Olympic Trials Shock: Wanyonyi’s Stunning 800m Triumph and More!

Read in 3.23 mintues


– Emmanuel Wanyonyi overcomes fall, wins 800m at Kenyan Trials.

– His time of 1:41.70 ranks third all-time globally.

– Wanyonyi’s performance matches 1980s legends like Coe and Cruz.

– Wyclife Kinyamal places second, Kidali third.

Emmanuel Wanyonyi was fortunate to make the final at the Kenyan Olympic Trials in Nairobi after falling in his heat. But after a successful appeal he delivered a masterful performance in the final as he front-ran to victory in 1:41.70.

Only David Rudisha with 1:40.91 and Wilson Kipketer with 1:41.11 have run faster. Wanyonyi’s run, which was set at 1795m of altitude, is also the quickest since Rudisha’s world record at London 2012.

However, world 800m standards at the highest level have not progressed hugely in recent years. Seb Coe and Joaquim Cruz, for example, both ran only a fraction slower than Wanyonyi in the early 1980s.

Wyclife Kinyamal was runner-up in 1:42.50 ahead of Koitatoi Kidali in 1:42.66 as Olympic champion Emmanuel Korir faded in his heat and didn’t make the final.

A world silver medallist last year, Wanyonyi, who is still only 19, will now go into the Olympics as 800m favourite although Djamel Sedjati of Algeria has shown dazzling form in recent Diamond League meetings too.

Other Races

In the men’s 100m in Nairobi, Ferdinand Omanyala clocked another world lead and his second-fastest time of 9.79 (1.5) to win comfortably from Mark Otieno. “This year, I hope to run 9.8 in the races that matter,” he said.

Faith Kipyegon was also in majestic form as she won the women’s 1500m in 3:53.98 from Nelly Chepchirchir (3:58.46) and Susan Ejore (4:00.22).

This added to the 5000m victory she enjoyed on the opening day of the championships where she clocked 14:46.28 ahead of Beatrice Chebet, the recent world 10,000 record-breaker clocking 14:52.55.

Reynold Cheruiyot, the 2022 world under-20 champion, won the men’s 1500m in 3:35.63 ahead of Daniel Munguti (3:35.80) and Timothy Cheruiyot (3:35.90).

In the women’s 800m there was a surprise as world champion Mary Moraa was beaten by Lilian Odira in 1:59.27 to 1:59.35 with Sara Moraa, the younger sister of Mary, third in 1:59.39.

Kenya’s Final Olympic Squad


Africa’s fasting man Ferdinand Omanyala leads the country in 100m event with an hope of getting into podium position in Paris Games that is slated for July 26 to August 11, 2024.   Zablon Ekwam and Wiseman Were will be solo representatives in men’s 400m and 400m hurdles respectively. The duo qualified during the Kip Keino Classic in April. 


After pulling the surprise performance of the two-day event, Lilian Odira will partner with World champion Mary Moraa in the women’s 800m. Men’s squad will have Emmanuel Wanyonyi, Wycliffe Kinyamal and Koitatoi Kidali. 


The men’s  1500m which produced a thrilling race with five men kicking for the win at the opening day of trials will see the country being represented by Reynold Cheruiyot, Olympic silver medalist Timothy Cheruiyot while the third athlete will announced later.  Defending champion Kipyegon leads the women’s team of Susan Ejore and Nelly Chepchirchir. 

3,000m  steeplechase 

In the women’s  3000m steeplechase steeplechase World Under-20 champion Faith Cherotich and world record holder Beatrice Chepkoech will carry the country’s flag with an hope winning the Kenya’s maiden gold medal in the event. The duo will team up with Jackline Chepkoech.  The men team has Amos Serem, Abraham Kibiwott and Simon Koech. 


Beatrice Chebet, fresh off from setting the women’s 10,000m world record of 28:54.14 at Prefontaine last month, Faith Kipyegon who clocked 14:52.55 at the opening day of the trials will team up with Margaret Chelimo in the women’s 5000m event.


Reigning 10,000m world record holder Beatrice Chebet and 2024 Ras Al Khaimah half marathon champion Daniel Mateiko will lead team Kenya in 10,000m. Others in the team are Lillian Kasait and Margaret Chelimo, while Mateiko will team up with Bernard Kibet and Nicholas Kimeli.


Olympic champions Eliud Kipchoge and Peres Jepchirichir will carry the country’s hopes.  Kipchoge will team up with Benson Kipruto and London Alexander Mutiso.

Women only marathon record holder Jepchirchir, will race with Hellen Obiri and Brigid Kosgei.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *