FKF National Super League:Mara Sugar Clinch Title with a Defeat

Read in 2.5 mintues

• The 2023/24 FKF National Super League champions

• Vihiga Bullets final match defeat

• FKF Premier League playoff

• #UgSportsNow

Mara Sugar Football Club emerged victorious in the 2023/24 FKF National Super League after an impressive campaign that saw them clinch the title before the final match of the season. The championship was secured on Sunday, June 30, 2024, amidst an electrifying atmosphere at the Police Sacco Stadium.

Indecisive final match defeat

Despite facing a 2-1 defeat against Vihiga Bullets in the final match of the season, Mara Sugar had already solidified their position at the top of the table in round 37. The team finished the season with a commendable 84 points, showcasing their dominance and consistency throughout the league.

The final showdown saw Denilson Imbayi of Vihiga Bullets open the scoring in the 28th minute, giving his team a 1-0 lead going into the halftime break. Mara Sugar’s Michael Isabwa equalized in the 59th minute, igniting hopes of a comeback. However, John Nyawir of Vihiga Bullets struck back in the 71st minute, securing the victory for his team and closing the season on a high note.

Mathare United finishes second

Following Mara Sugar’s triumph, Mathare United and Naivas secured second and third place in the league standings with 82 and 76 points, respectively, showcasing their competitive spirit throughout the season.

Also read: Intense NSL Promotion Race: Mara Sugar and Mathare United Lead the Charge

In contrast, Kajiado, Gusii, and Silibwet faced relegation to the FKF Division One League for the upcoming 2024/25 season, highlighting the intense competition and stakes in the league.

FKF Premier League promotional playoff

Naivas, finishing in the third position, earned a playoff spot against FKF Premier League side Sofapaka for an opportunity to secure a place in the top-tier FKF Premier League next season. The playoff matches are scheduled with the first leg to be held on Saturday, July 6, 2024, and the second leg on Sunday, July 14, 2024, presenting a crucial moment for both teams.

On an individual level, Henry Omollo of Nairobi United emerged as the top scorer of the 2023/24 season, showcasing his goal-scoring prowess with an impressive tally of 17 goals. Former Mara Sugar forward Philemon Nyakwaka, Michael Karamor of Kisumu Allstars, and Emmanuel Lunalo of Mombasa Elite closely followed with 16 goals each, underlining the talent and competitiveness prevalent in the league.

Mara Sugar’s triumph in the FKF National Super League is a testament to their dedication, teamwork, and skill, and sets the stage for an exciting and challenging season ahead as they prepare to compete in the prestigious FKF Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *