Prosper Emmanuel Shines at Vodacom Lugalo Golf Open: A New Star in Tanzanian Golf

Read in 2.17 mintues

Prosper Emmanuel wins first national title at Lugalo Open.
Secures victory with three-over-par final round of 75.
Alfred Tarimo tops nett category with 128 over two rounds.
Tournament highlights Tanzania’s growing golfing talent and competitiveness.

Prosper Emmanuel clinched his first national title and earned his maiden World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) points at the Vodacom Lugalo Golf Open held at the Tanzania People’s Defence Forces (TPDF) Lugalo Golf Club in Dar es Salaam.

A Composed Final Round

Emmanuel displayed remarkable composure and resilience, securing victory with a three-over-par final round of 75, culminating in a nine-over overall score. Starting the final day two shots behind joint overnight leaders Isiaka Daudi and Jumanne Mbunda, who both carded 74s, Emmanuel’s steady performance was enough to surpass his rivals.

Resilience and Determination

From the outset, Emmanuel’s journey to the title was marked by perseverance. Despite starting two shots behind, he maintained focus and consistency, crucial elements that defined his victory. His final round score of 75 edged out close contenders Hawa Wanyeche and Khalid Shemndolwa, both of whom finished with rounds of 76.

Rising Stars and Close Contests

Samwel Kileo made a notable ascent from sixth place after day one, shooting 76 and 73 on days two and three, respectively. This strong performance secured him second place overall at 10-over. Meanwhile, Daudi, who led after day two, faltered in the final round with an 80, tying for third place with Enosh Wanyeche at 13-over.

Nett Category Highlights

In the nett category, Alfred Tarimo showcased his prowess, claiming the overall title with a total of 128 over two rounds, underscoring the hosts’ dominance. In Division A, Jumanne Mbunda took the nett first prize with 142, followed by Claudy Mtavangu at 145. Division B saw Muzai Mkumba emerging victorious with 145 nett, while Marcel Lubuva secured first place with 142 nett.

Division C and Senior Categories

Division C honors went to Godlisten Thobiko with 141 nett, and Gerald Ndowera secured second with 150 nett. In the senior category, Edmund Mndolwa won with 145 nett, and Ambassador Job Masima finished second with 180 nett. These performances highlighted the depth of talent across various categories.

Ladies’ and Junior Divisions

The ladies’ division saw Habiba Likuli triumphing with 147 nett on countback over Teresia Mombe, both representing Lugalo. In the junior category, G. Wilbroad from TPC’s Moshi Golf Club impressed with a 64 nett, becoming the only non-Lugalo player to top a division. Hosts Ibrahim Juma and Sabrina Juma secured second and third place with 68 and 83 netts, respectively.

Special Awards and Recognitions

Neema Olomi from Arusha Gymkhana Club (AGC) claimed the ladies’ longest drive award, while Isiaka Daudi won the men’s prize. Abubakar Yasin triumphed in the nearest to the pin contest among juniors. These special recognitions added an extra layer of excitement and acknowledgment of individual brilliance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *