Kenya to regroup against Nepal as International Cricket returns to the East African side 

2 mins read

Read time : 



By Kirunda Wycliffe

It has been close to six years since Kenya last played International cricket at the home soil when they hosted Hong Kong in November 2016.

Due to unending wars in the cricket federation of Kenya which has affected the progress of the cricket games in their country, which has given chance to its neighboring countries such as Uganda and Rwanda to host International events despite lack of enough facilities.

Having had a great performance in Jersey in the recently concluded ICC Challenge league B final round where they registered four wins against Uganda, Jersey, Bermuda and Italy and finished fourth, Kenya will be looking at building on the positives as they host Nepal.

Kenya will be playing five T20I and three 50 over games against Nepal starting today, 25th August 2022.

Skipper Shem Ngoche will lead Kenya with a number of experienced players such as Alex Obanda, Collins Obuya, Rakep Patel and Irfan Karin as they battle Nepal in the international series

On the other side, Shahab Alam, Bibek Yadev and Gyanendra Malla have been recalled to represent Nepal in the International series with head coach Manoj Prabhakar leading the team on his first assignment after the departure of Pubudu Dassanayeke last month.

Nepal are currently ranked 14th in the world in T20I while Kenya are in the 30th position in the same format.

A good performance for Kenya will see an improvement in their rankings.

Kenya squad

Shem Ngoche (Captain), Alex Obanda, Sukdeep Sigh, Irfan Karim (wk), Rakep Patel, Collins Obuya, Sachi Budhia, Nelson Odhiambo, Emmanuel Bundi, Eugen Ochieng, Vraj Patel, Elijah Otieno, Lucas Oluoch, Nehemiah Odhiambo.

Nepal squad

Sandeep Lamichhane (Captain), Rohit Paudel (Vice-Captain), Aasif Sheikh (Wicker Caretaker), Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Dev Khanal, Aadil Alam, Karan KC, Gyanendra Malla, Sompal Kami, Basir Ahamad, Arjun Saud (Gate Caretaker), Pawan Sarraf, Shahab Alam, Kishor Mahato, Bibek Yadav. Books: Jitendra Mukhiya, Bhim Sharki, Pratish GC, Hari Shankar Shah.


T20I Series 

  • Nepal Vs Kenya on 25/08/2022 at 1PM
  • Nepal Vs Kenya on 26/08/2022 at 1PM
  • Nepal Vs Kenya on 28/08/2022 at 1PM
  • Nepal Vs Kenya on 29/08/2022 at 1PM
  • Nepal Vs Kenya on 30/08/2022 at 1PM

50 Over Series

  • Nepal Vs Kenya on 02/09/2022 at 10AM
  • Nepal Vs Kenya on 03/09/2022 at 10AM
  • Nepal Vs Kenya on 05/09/2022 at 10Am
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments