Kikankane team recruits Omar Mayanja as top drivers withdraw from the WRC 2021 Safari Rally

< 1 mins read

Read time : 

< 1


By Alex Bossa

With less than 24 hours left to the start of the 2021 Safari Rally, FIA posted an amended list which included withdrawals, change of co-drivers, change of crew, car change and clerical error rectification.

Uganda’s Duncan Mubiru who will be participating in the event replaced Musa Nsubuga with Omar Mayanja as the co-driver after Musa was locked out in Western Uganda following President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni’s announcement of  a national lock down on Friday June 18th 2021.

Musa was left with no option but to pull out of the event which is meant to start on Thursday June 24, 2021.

Mayanja will be bringing a diversity of experience to the Kikankane team after previously navigating for Ronald Ssebuguzi, Leilah Mayanja and Arthur Blick. He will co-drive with Mubiru in the Subaru Impreza.

The top drivers who withdrew from the WRC 2021 Safari rally include; Norwegian driver Andreas Mikkelsen, Finnish driver Teemu Suninen, Bolivian driver Marco Bulacia and Kenyan driver Edward Maina.  

Meanwhile there was a replacement made by Hyundai with France’s Pierre-Louis Loubet being replaced by Swedish driver Oliver Solberg while Kenya’s Amaanraj Rai replaced his Ford Fiesta car with Skoda Fabia.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments