Three Ugandan players earn spots in the Women’s Criczone Associate Team of the year 

2 mins read

Read time : 



By Kirunda Wycliffe 

Hard work, perfection and consistency seems to be the new normal for any athlete to penetrate the global stage where every player yearns to be at any point to showcase their talent.

For an Associate ICC member, it must be very hard to compete and put out work which can outcompete a full member nation of the governing body of cricket in the world due to lack of enough games in a calendar year.

But nevertheless, there are always players determined to hit the global stage and some of them were seen putting up a phenomenal performance in 2022 as they earned spots in the Women’s Criczone Associate team of the year.

Just as it is on the Victoria Pearls team, Consy Aweko was given the same role as the captain of the named team. This came after she picked 40 wickets in 2022, being the best wicket taker in the same year for any Associate member of ICC.

Sarah Akiteng and experienced Janet Mbabazi joined the Victoria Pearls skipper to make the final team of 2022 which was mainly dominated by United Arab Emirates players.

The selected team of 12 players is a well constructed one with players who have managed to put up a global performance throughout the year of 2022.

Women’s Criczone Associate team of the year (2022)

Natthakan Chantham (Thailand)

Fatuma Kibasu(Tanzania)

Theertha Satish(UAE)

Esha Oza(UAE)

Tanya Ruma(PNG)

Mariko Hill(Hong Kong)

Janet Mbabazi(Uganda)

Vaishnave Mahesh(UAE)

Concy Aweko(Uganda)

Sarah Akiteng(Uganda)

Iris Zwilling(Netherlands)

Kavisha Egodage(UAE) 12th player.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments