Uganda Cup Quarterfinals: Police FC outplay Wakiso Giants FC in the first leg of the Uganda Cup last 8

2 mins read

Read time : 



By Edward Tumusiime

FT: Wakiso Giants FC 1-3 Police FC
Venue: Kavumba Recreation Center

The game played today by Wakiso Giants FC and Police FC was the first leg of the Uganda Cup quarter-finals.

The encounter had Kaggwa and Senfuka starting against their former Club Police FC.

The game started in high gear with Ruben Kimera turning Kaddu’s cross into his net to give Wakiso Giants a 1-0 in the 5th minute.

In the 12th minute just 7 minutes after Kimera’s blander, Police FC reacted positively and found an equalizer through Derrick Kakooza who tapped in from Yusuf Ssozi’s delivery from the right.

After 21 minutes of play Police FC’s, right back Tony Kiwalazi limped off the pitch following a bloody injury and he was replaced by Ben Ocen who also picked a yellow card 5 minutes later.

In the 27th minute, Yusuf Ssozi met a through ball from Joseph Sentume and brilliantly raced onto it before rounding off goalkeeper Samson Kirya for a clinical finishing to put Police FC ahead with a 2-1 lead.

Edward Satulo of Wakiso Giants FC and Ruben Kimera of Police FC  also got booked in the 32nd and 40th minute respectively for dangerous play.

Wakiso Giants FC’s first substitute of the game came in the 32nd minute with Tom Masiko replacing Faizul Ibrahim.

Centre referee William Oloya blew the final whistle for the first half to close and Police FC was leading by 2-1.

In the second period of the game, Ben Ocen tripled the lead for Police FC in the 66th minute taking the score to 3-1.

In the 75th minute, Wahab came for Wakiso Giants to replace injured Ssebuufu.

Police FC made their second and third substitution in the 79th minute where Derrick Kakooza paved the way for Henry Kisekka and Mubarak Nsubuga came in for Duncan Senninde.

The final whistle was blown with Police FC taking a 3-1 first-leg advantage.

The return leg will be played on Saturday 4th June at Lugogo Stadium.

Wakiso Giants FC Starting XI; 24-Kiirya, 16-Kawooya, 14-Satulo, 21-Kaddu, 15-Atendele, 26-Lubwama, 23-Faizul, 18-Senfuka, 10-Sekajugo, 19-Ssebuufu, 22-Kaggwa.

Substitutes: 1-Emukule, 9-Muwonge, 30-Gadaffi, 7-Masiko, 3-Komakech, 25-Wasswa, 5-Namwanja.

Police FC starting XI: Ikara, Kiwalazi, Senjobe, Sentume, Mahmood, Mawejje, Ssozi, Senninde, Kizito, Kakooza, Kimera.

Substitutes: Ochan, Ocen, Muwadda, Katongole, Nsubuga, Muluuli, Kisekka

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments