Uganda Premier Leagues’ top scores miss out on 2023 CHAN squad

2 mins read

Read time : 



By Morris Rawal

A 35-man Uganda Cranes team has been named in preparation for the upcoming 2023 African Nations Championship by head coach Milutin “Micho” Sredejovic.

However, there are a number of notable absences, including the top three goal scorers in the Uganda Premier League, Nelson Senkatuka (Bright Stars), Fred Amaku (Maroons) with seven, and Vipers target-man Yunus Sentamu with six.

Express FC’s Allan Kayiwa and BUL FC’s Karim Ndugwa, who both have five goals, were left off the roster.

However, Vipers’ attackers Cromwell Rwothomio and Najib Yiga are included into the summoned squad.

Cromwell Rwothomio has scored one goal and Najib Yiga  has played a meager amount of minutes.

Allan Okello isn’t on the list since he’s on loan from Paradou of Algeria, and Yunus is rumored to have written to Micho to let her know he can’t make it.

The Uganda Cranes were placed in the challenging Group B against the two-time reigning champions DR Congo, Senegal, and Ivory Coast from West Africa.

The competition, which features players from the area, begins in Algeria on January 13 of 2023.

Tanzania was defeated 4-0 overall by Uganda Cranes, who earned a sixth consecutive berth in the CHAN championships.

At the jam-packed St. Mary’s stadium in Kitende, goals from Moses Waiswa, Rogers Mato, and Richard Basangwa helped Cranes win, while Travis Mutyaba’s stunning goal had set the tone in Dar es Salaam.

Uganda Cranes summoned Squad


 Nafian Alionzi (URA), Mathias Muwanga (Onduparaka), Joel Mutakubwa (Gaddafi), Emmanuel Kalyowa (BUL), Jack Komakech (Vipers)


James Begisa (URA), Ashraf Mandela (Vipers), Grant Matsiko (Wakiso Giants), Derrick Ndahiro (URA), Isa Mubiru (Vipers), Arthur Kiggundu (Express), Hillary Mukundane (Vipers), Kenneth Ssemakula (SC Villa), Geoffrey Wasswa (KCCA), Filbert Obenchan (KCCA), Gift Fred (SC Villa), Bright Vuni (Arua Hill)


Siraje Sentamu (Vipers), Moses Waiswa (KCCA), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Hussein Ssenoga (Express), Karim Watambala (Vipers), Marvin Youngman (Vipers), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Moses Aliro (Wakiso Giants), Ssenoga Kagawa (KCCA), Rogers Mato (KCCA)


Bright Anukani (Vipers), Ibrahim Kasule (Wakiso Giants), Titus Sematimba (Wakiso Giants), Frank Ssebuufu (Wakiso Giants), Yiga Najib (Vipers), Cromwell Rwothomio (Vipers)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments