What you need to know about the upcoming Rugby Elgon Cup

2 mins read

Read time : 



By Ali Mutanje

The Elgon Cup is an annual competition between the national Rugby teams of Uganda and Kenya. 

The Elgon Cup is named after Mount Elgon, the dividing physical feature at the border of Kenya and Uganda. The trophy given to the winner of the competition is also called the Elgon Cup. 

It involves both the male and female teams of both nations. The competition has been running since 2004 for the men. The women’s tournament started running in 2006. 

The cup is held over two legs. And the winner is chosen on an aggregate basis.  Each country hosts one leg. Uganda hosts its matches at Kyadondo Rugby grounds in Kampala while Kenya hosts from RFUEA Ground in Nairobi Kenya. 

History and Rivalry 

The first Elgon Cup game was played on 31 July 2004 between the men’s 15s teams. The Kenya 15s team won 18-08 in Nairobi. 

Kenya have an extra edge on Uganda when it comes to matches played overall. The Kenya Simbas have 25 wins over Uganda’s  12. 

Current record. 

The Kenya Men’s team are the current winners of the Elgon cup per 2019.  The 2020 Elgon cup was cancelled due to COVID-19. The Kenyans have been dominant and have a big winning percentage boasting in winning the next 4 Elgon Cup tournaments since 2005. 

Kenya Lionesses are the current Elgon Cup champions after defeating Lady Cranes 44-13 in the first leg of the Elgon Cup which was played in Kisumu Kenya on 22 June, 2019 and they did the double over Uganda with a 5-35 victory in Kampala on 13 July.

In terms of matches played between the two in the Elgon Cup, Uganda has 7 wins while Kenya have won 10 Elgon Cup games. 

2021 Elgon Cup 

This year’s Elgon Cup is slated for 12th June 2021, to be hosted first in Kampala and the return leg in Nairobi. Same for both men and women 15s teams.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments