Yunus Sentamu out, Cromwell Rwothomio in as Vipers SC name 19-man squad to Congo Brazaville| CAF Champions league

2 mins read

Read time : 



By Bantam Nobart.

Vipers SC technical has today Thursday 8th September named the 19 players who will take part in the first leg of the CAF Champions league preliminary round against Olympic Real de Bangui Fc.

The fixture will be played on Saturday 10th September at Stade Alphonse Massaba Debating in the Central African Republic.

In the squad, striker Yunus Sentamu is the main absentee.

Sentamu who was last season’s league fourth top scorer with 13 goals is recovering from malaria.

He is being replaced by a new signing from URA FC Cromwell Rwothomio who put pen to paper a three-year deal.

The former Paidha Black Angels FC Captain bagged 11 league goals for the tax collectors.

Halid Lwaliwa and Bobosi Byaruhanga will not be part of the Venoms this season as they are close to joining other clubs out of Uganda.

Paul Mucureezi will also not take part in this tie because of the foot fracture.

New signings Abdu Lumala, Olivier Osombo, Murushid Juuko, Ashraf Mandela, Isa Mubiru, Marvin Youngman, and Abubakar Lawal are part of the squad.

The two will face off again in the second leg on 17th September at St Mary’s stadium Kitende.

The winner on goal aggregate will play TP Mazembe in the final Qualifying round.


GOALKEEPERS: Fabien Mutonbora, Alfred Mudekereza.

DEFENDERS: Murushid Juuko, Livingston Mulondo, Hillary Mukundane, Ashraf Mandela, Disan Galiwango, Isa Mubiru.

MIDFIELDERS: Marvin Youngman, Siraje Sentamu, Abdu Lumala, Bright Anukani, Olivier Osombo, Ibrahim Orit, Karim Watambala.

FORWARDS: Cromwell Rwothomio, Milton Kalisa, Abubakar Lawal, Najib Yiga.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments