Rugby Africa Cup Returns: Uganda Set to Host Epic 2024 Showdown

Read in 3.39 mintues


– Rugby Africa Cup returns to Uganda in July 2024.

– Eight teams confirmed for the tournament.

– Hosted at Nelson Mandela National Stadium.

– Namibia, Kenya, Uganda, Algeria, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Burkina Faso.

Eight nations have been confirmed for the Rugby Africa Cup when the competition makes a return to the continent.

Uganda (who will also participate) will host the tournament that is set run from July 18 to July 29, 2024 at the newly refurbished Nelson Mandela National Stadium in Namboole.

The tournament will include eight teams: defending champions Namibia, past champions Kenya Simbas (2011 and 2013), hosts Uganda, Algeria, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Zimbabwe, and Burkina Faso.

Rugby Africa Cup returns

Last held in 2022 at the Stade Delort in Marseille and the Stade Maurice David in Aix-en-Provence, France, it featured an 8-team knockout format, the winner automatically qualifying for the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

Virtually attending the launch on Wednesday, May 22, at Kings Park, Rugby Africa president Herbert Mensah reiterated his confidence of a successful tourney being held in the East African nation.

“We know it’s going to be a festival of rugby. We know it’s going to exhibit the wonders of Uganda. But it’s also something that they bid for two years so they’ve got it for 2024 and for 2025. And it means that we are now going to have access to a refurbished stadium. I believe the Mandela National Stadium will be ready. It’s going to give a chance for you in Uganda to welcome the fans from across the whole of Africa to the Pearl. Let’s see what your hospitality is really like, whether the weather is upstanding, and whether we’d all want to come back to Uganda for holidays thereafter.”

Namibia won the 2022 edition, defeating Kenya Simbas 36-0 in the final and qualifying as Africa’s number one. Kenya placed second would head to the final world cup qualification tournament, the Repechage. Algeria secured third place by beating Zimbabwe 20-12.

For the first time, all eight African teams will compete in two groups on a promotion-relegation system, playing in a single country.

Government cooperation key for success

The federation’s president called on increased cooperation between governments and unions, stressing why government support will be crucial in growing the game across Africa.

“Listen, you receive two and a quarter million, but you need five to seven million to provide rugby for all. There are some saying you are not providing rugby for every nation, but that is not true. Our plan clearly is to do that and we can only do it with the Ugandas of this world.

“Uganda is the first country to embrace the philosophy, that marriage with government, which means that the hosting rights are being paid for by Uganda for the first time. This has enabled us to spend more money on air tickets to bring more countries in.” Mensah said.

About Rugby Africa Cup

The Rugby Africa Cup is a two-year men’s rugby union tournament involving the top 16 African nations based on their World Rugby rankings, it is organised by Rugby Africa. The tournament was first held in 2000.

 It was renamed the Rugby Africa Cup in November 2019, it was previously called the Africa Cup since 2006, the CAR Top 9 and CAR Top 10.

Due to South Africa being far stronger than any other African nation, South African teams have only competed five times, and won the competition three times. The winning South African teams on these occasions were the under 23 or amateur players (in 2000, 2001 and 2006).


The African Cup of Rugby Union took place for the first time in 2000, with five teams taking part in the event, Morocco, Tunisia, Namibia, Zimbabwe and the hosts South Africa, the winner of the competition. In 2004, a second division called CAR Development Trophy and now named now African Development Trophy was formed, reserved for U19 national teams. In 2006, the Africa Cup was coupled with the Rugby World Cup qualification, the winner qualified for the Rugby World Cup. In 2011, a Division 1A was created and in 2014, the division took place as a four-team championship.

The winner of the 2022 Africa Gold Cup will qualify for the 2023 Rugby World Cup and the runner-up will qualify for its final qualification tournament in November 2022.

The overall record of the teams are as follows:

TeamChampionsRunners-upThirdFourthLosing semi-finals
Namibia9 (2002**, 2004*, 2009**, 2014, 2015*, 2016*, 2017, 2018, 2022)2 (2003, 2006*)1 (2005)
South Africa Amateurs3 (2000, 2001, 2006)1 (2005)
Kenya2 (2011*, 2013)4 (2016, 2017*, 2018, 2022)4 (2007, 2012, 2014, 2015)
Morocco2 (2003*, 2005)3 (2000*, 2001*, 2004)1 (2006)
Zimbabwe1 (2012)3 (2013, 2014, 2015)2 (2016, 2022)
Uganda1 (2007)1 (2012)3 (2016, 2017, 2018)1 (2013)2 (2003, 2009)
Tunisia3 (2002**, 2009**, 2011)4 (2012*, 2015, 2017, 2018)
Madagascar2 (2005, 2007*)1 (2013*)1 (2014*)2 (2003, 2006)
Algeria1 (2022)
Ivory Coast1 (2007)1 (2009)

* hosts

** home/away

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *