Anticipation Builds for the World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 in South Africa

Read in 3.12 mintues

South Africa hosts World Rugby U20 Championship in June-July.
Twelve top U20 teams compete for global supremacy.
New law amendments and trials to enhance gameplay.
Affordable tickets offer access to multiple matches daily.

The excitement is palpable as South Africa gears up to host the World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 in June and July. This prestigious event will feature the top 12 under-20 rugby teams vying for global dominance. France will defend their title, which they clinched in Cape Town last year, while the Junior Springboks are eager to improve on their bronze medal finish from 2023.

Tournament Overview

The championship begins on June 29, with matches taking place at Cape Town’s DHL Stadium and Athlone Stadium. The pool stages will continue on July 4 and 9, followed by the playoffs and semi-finals on July 14. The tournament will culminate with the final and placement matches on July 19.

The venues for these intense battles include Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch, alongside the aforementioned stadiums in Cape Town. Tickets, affordably priced at R35 for children (18 years and younger) and R75 for adults, will be available through Ticketmaster starting Friday, May 31. Each ticket grants access to an entire match day, featuring three thrilling encounters per venue.

Pools and Teams

The competition is divided into three pools:

Pool A: France, Wales, New Zealand, Spain
Pool B: Ireland (2023 runners-up), Australia, Georgia, Italy
Pool C: South Africa, England, Argentina, Fiji
This setup promises a series of electrifying matches as these young talents showcase their skills on the global stage.

Insights from SA Rugby CEO

SA Rugby CEO, Rian Oberholzer, expressed his enthusiasm: “Last year’s tournament was unforgettable, and we expect the same this year. The recent U20 Rugby Championship highlighted the close competition among SANZAAR teams, and the U20 Six Nations was equally intense, with England emerging victorious. Hosting the next generation of superstars is a great privilege, and we look forward to welcoming their families, friends, and fans to South Africa.”

Oberholzer emphasized the significance of the World Rugby U20 Championship in promoting and growing the sport, as well as identifying future Springboks.

New Law Amendments

This year’s championship will be the first to implement three new law amendments aimed at promoting continuous play and diverse attacking strategies, while also ensuring player welfare:

Players will not be put onside if an opponent catches the ball from a kick in open play and runs five meters; players must attempt to retreat.
Scrums will no longer be an option from free kicks.
The crocodile roll is banned.
Additionally, six law trials, including a simplified red card sanction process, will be in effect, further enhancing the game’s safety and flow.

Match Fixtures

Saturday, 29 June
DHL Stadium:

France vs. Spain
Ireland vs. Italy
South Africa vs. Fiji
Athlone Stadium:

England vs. Argentina
Australia vs. Georgia
Wales vs. New Zealand
Thursday, 4 July
Danie Craven Stadium:

Ireland vs. Georgia
France vs. New Zealand
South Africa vs. Argentina
Athlone Stadium:

Wales vs. Spain
England vs. Fiji
Australia vs. Italy
Tuesday, 9 July
Athlone Stadium:

Ireland vs. Australia
France vs. Wales
South Africa vs. England
Danie Craven Stadium:

Argentina vs. Fiji
Georgia vs. Italy
New Zealand vs. Spain
Sunday, 14 July
Danie Craven Stadium:

10th seed vs. 11th seed (Match 19)
9th seed vs. 12th seed (Match 20)
6th seed vs. 7th seed (Match 21)
DHL Stadium:

5th seed vs. 8th seed (Match 22)
2nd seed vs. 3rd seed (Semi-final – Match 23)
1st seed vs. 4th seed (Semi-final – Match 24)
Friday, 19 July
Athlone Stadium:

Loser Match 19 vs. Loser Match 20
Winner Match 19 vs. Winner Match 20
Loser Match 21 vs. Loser Match 22
DHL Stadium

Winner Match 21 vs. Winner Match 22
Loser Match 23 vs. Loser Match 24 (Bronze medal match)
1Winner Match 23 vs. Winner Match 24 (Final)

Teams to Watch in the World Rugby U20 Championship 2024

Defending champions aiming to retain their title.
South Africa (Junior Springboks)

Hosts and 2023 bronze medalists seeking improvement.

Winners of the recent U20 Six Nations, strong contenders.

2023 runners-up with a powerful and determined squad.
New Zealand

Historically strong team with a reputation for excellence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *